Cool cow facts.

Moooo….PrettyCow-1

That’s cow for good morning. As you might know I have an unnatural love of the bovine species. Although my writing has taken me other places in the last few months I fully intend this summer to catch up on my cool cow facts, fabulous bovine photos, nutritional information that may or may not apply to your daily red meat-eating diet and lots of happy thoughts on all things cow. I decided to start this journey with random cool cow facts I have come across on the internet.  Because why not? How much do you know about the moo in your burger?

Did you know:

  • It takes 12 pounds of whole milk to make 1 gallon of ice cream. Remember, in order for dairy cows to produce milk they must have been pregnant first then they lactate, just like us.

  • It takes 21.2 pounds of whole milk to make 1 pound of butter. What! That must explain the price of butter.

  • Cows can smell up to 6 miles away! Watch out cow tippers, they might smell you coming.

  • Most cows chew up to 50 times a minute. As humans we might have a better life of digestion if we did the same.

  • Cows drink about 35 gallons of water a day. That is roughly the equivalent of a bath tub of water. I only drink 3 liters of water a day.

  • The milk bottle was invented in 1884… which surprises me. I would have figured it would have been invented sooner. What did people drink their milk from before 1884? That may be a whole other list altogether.

  • Cows can’t vomit. So don’t take them on an all night drinking expedition.

  • Apparently they can walk up stairs but not down because their legs don’t bend the right way to walk down stairs. That sucks.

  • Cows only have teeth on the bottom. Like some old people.

 

Well that does it for today….moo, moo, and more moo!

Cassandra