Haddock: 3 wonderful ways!

Welcome to Fantastic Foods this month, It has been awhile since last I’ve seen you guys. Due to the uneasy nature of shaky wi-fi hotspots, lousy internet connections and the mountainous terrain that is upstate NY I have been unable to be in touch. Don’t worry though this new year will bring so many wonderous things for “A cup of noodle soup”

As a way to help get back into my mostly pescatarian diet after a lovely 2 months this past summer spent eating a fair amount of chicken and red meat, I thought, a while back, I’d start my early holiday season with one of my favorite fish. Haddock.  Incredibly under-rated in my opinion, this is a wonderfully light and super flaky fish that pairs well with more than is immediately obvious. Now, it’s been awhile since I’ve even cooked some haddock and I was quickly reminded of that fact, as sometimes our kitchen experiments go awry. But never fear as I used my intense collection and log of recipes plus the resources of the world-wide web to bring to you guys, after a long while away: Haddock, 3 wonderful ways. It’s “Fantastic Foods” at it’s best, honestly. For the flavor of this fish is pretty mild and it is pretty easy to underestimate the amount and types of seasonings that are appropriate as to have a pleasant result. I hope you enjoy them!

They say “There is more than one way to skin a chicken.” and it is exactly the same premise for haddock I suppose.

*Sidenote: I attempted to make haddock without using any butter once and on a few occasions even tried to marinate it before cooking it, which just didn’t come out right at all and like most things in life, it just seems better, no matter how you make it, if butter is involved at some stage or the process. 🙂

The 1st recipe is an altered broiled version of my own, the 2nd is an amalgamation of lots of fried fish sandwich recipes I have come across and decided to simply throw my interpretation down on paper and the 3rd is a baked recipe I found online randomly on some site that I can’t actually remember for it was a while ago. Here we go!


broiled-haddock-fillet-with-lemon-sauce

1. Broiled Haddock

Ingredients

4 Haddock fillets

2 tbsp butter ( cubed or chopped)

1 tsp pepper + salt

1/2 tsp chili powder, cayenne pepper, paprika, garlic powder & onion powder

1 lime or lemon ( I love using lime when using cilantro)

1/2 tsp cilantro

Process

Pre-heat your broiler (or you can even use a toaster oven, set to broil)

Mix all your seasonings together in a bowl

Place fillets on a baking sheet (lined with foil if you wish)

Sprinkle both side generously with your seasoning

Place your cubed butter all atop your fish fillets

Cook 10-15 mins or until easily flaked with a fork


fried haddock

2. Fried Po’ Boy Sandwich

Ingredients

1 c. all-purpose flour

1 (12 oz) medium bodied beer

1 egg

1 baguette ( cut into 6- 8 inch pieces then cut lengthwise) (toasted in butter)

1 large dill pickle ( for the side)

tartar sauce ( I actually used flavored store-bought kind)

Salt and Pepper

1 tbsp cayenne pepper, curry and coriander

lettuce (Julienne) or cole-slaw if you prefer

canola oil and grated parmesan cheese

Process

Mix your beer, seasonings, egg, flour and salt and pepper in a bowl to create your batter. ( make sure not to stir it too much as to prevent bubbles)

Heat your canola oil in your fry pan until it’s about 375 degrees F ( you’ll know when it’s hot by simply dropping a  dollop of batter into it and when it sizzles its ready)

Roll each fillet in your batter until well coated, making sure to let the excess run off

Fry each of your fillets for 4-5 mins on each side or until golden and crispy, set aside on paper towel to drain excess oil

While the fish are resting toast your baguette with a bit of butter on them. I like to put them in the oven for 3 minutes then they are perfectly toasted and just soft enough.

Place your tartar sauce on each side, then a fish fillet and then some lettuce and sprinkle it with parmesan. Plate and don’t forget to add your dill pickle on the side. Enjoy with a beer of any kind!


baked haddock

3. Baked ( Amazingly fantastic!)

Ingredients

3/4 c. milk and bread crumbs

2 tsp salt

1/4 c. butter ( melted)

1/4 c. parmesan

1/4 c. thyme (ground and dry)

1 lemon

4 haddock fillets

Process

Pre-heat your oven to 450 Degrees F

In a bowl mix milk and salt and stir.

In a separate bowl mix bread crumbs, parmesan and thyme.

Dip fillets into the milk coating both sides then into your bread crumb mixture.

Place fillets into your baking dish and then drizzle your butter slowly on top of them

Bake 15 mins or until fish flakes easily

Serve warm and sprinkle lemon and parmesan on top. 🙂

Side note: As per usual I sometimes use photos online to help give an idea of what the food should like, as I haven’t gotten that special camera I have been dying for to take fabulous photos of the food I make. Usually though my better half, the fabulous Red himself has generally eaten whatever food we do make before a picture can ever be taken. I am working to remedy this problem soon however. In the meantime I sometimes use photos of food that is as close to my own dish as possible. Either way the food will be fantastic 🙂

Leave a Reply

