Home-made chicken pot pie!

Welcome to another edition of Fantastic Food.

I am fortunate to have a pretty large family, the size that means you better put all the food on your plate the first go round because there are so many people there probably won’t be any left. There are also quite a few wonderful cooks  in my family and believe it or not some of the best of them are the guys in my family. My Grandpa Amos and my cousin Julian is included here. It was his passion, my grandpa, and love for food that probably sat with me the most growing up. He always made breakfast lunch and dinner. He threw together recipes and last-minute ideas without even a furrow of the brow all the while never once glancing into the pages of a cook book. He was a true majesty in the kitchen. I never sprinkle a single grain of salt or pepper without him in my thoughts. On that note it is my grandpa Amos who ultimately inspired today’s dish and I didn’t even realize it until after Red and I had cooked it.

So a bit shout out to the fabulously bearded man in my life, the wonderful and consistently hungry, Red himself. For he often helps to evoke and revive the best things in me. Like chicken pot pie. So one day after a grocery store visit, Red came home with peas and carrots. From these two simple ingredients he had a plan in his mind. Just like that, he nonchalantly added under his breath while un-packing the groceries “Definitely going to make some chicken pot pie. A giant one.” As you can imagine I giggled to myself because my boyfriend loves food and everything that has anything to do with it and he seriously is planning dinner and lunch and midnight snacks in  is his head on a regular basis. Needless to say several days later we were equipped with all the ingredients we needed to make one giant chicken pot pie and what happened next was amazing. Just like grandpa, we took a long loved family dish and without realizing, we had changed it and made it our own.

We made home-made chicken pot pie with a parmesan crust!!!!!! Enjoy.

Ingredients:

2 cans cream of mushroom soup ( we used campbells)

1 large red onion (diced)

1 pack of peas and carrots ( you can use frozen)

9″  pie pan

9′ pie crust (2)

Chicken ( boiled then shredded)

Parmesan cheese

Butter

Salt and pepper

Process:

  • First boil your chicken until cooked then place on a cutting board and shred into lots of pieces ( I put the chicken in a ziploc bag with a tsp of butter and salt and pepper to sit while  I prepared everything else)

  • Heat a skillet with olive oil on medium heat

  • put onions, carrots and peas, chicken into skillet, cook for about ten minutes

  • Heat your oven to 350 Degrees F

  • Add your can of mushroom soup to the skillet, let it cook down for about ten minutes, stirring occasionally

WP_20140822_003

  • While your mixture is cooking prepare your crust. Roll both crusts out flat. take some melted butter and slather a little on the bottom of your pie pan then place crust gently inside.

  • Add your mixture to the pie crust.  Then cover your pan with the second crust, folding the edges onto each other to secure it close. ( I simply pinched the dough with my fingers.

WP_20140822_004

  • Make 4 or 5 slices in the crust and slather a thin layer of melted butter on top.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Voila, place in oven and wait 30 minutes or until it’s golden brown on top and that is it!!!

WP_20140823_001

Happy eatin’

❤ Cassandra

 

2 thoughts on “Home-made chicken pot pie!

Leave a Reply

