June’s Beer of the Month-Maharaja!!!!!

 

maharaja beer

 

Welcome to my choice for Beer of the month for June.

I have a really great one for you guys this time. I’ve chosen a beer from the Avery Brewing Co. Called Maharaja. This beer is brewed in Boulder, Colorado.

Beer style: Imperial India Pale Ale

Alc. by vol.- 10.5 %   Color- Deep amber

Hop Variety: Simcoe, Columbus, Centennial and Chinook

This beer is one of Avery’s breweries most popular and best-selling beers and is rated as such on sites such as ratebeer.com and beeradvocate.com . It’s the second installment of their “Dictators Series”. Be aware that the Maharaja is only available in the summer time and is a special edition, so what are you waiting for?

Food pairing: This beer was recommended to be paired with shrimp cocktail, however I paired it with a super cool dish Kedegree, that I have made a bunch of times and it’s an amalgamation of leftovers, rice and whatever is in the fridge. Kind of. You can definitely make this dish the day of. It is great for this yummy beer during the brunch hours. The recipe is at the bottom and also appears in a June 4th article I wrote for the “Fantastic Food” section of my blog. It’s originally from colonial India and was brought to the UK as a breakfast  like dish and is a perfect complement to the “grapfruity hops” aroma.

Flavor: The Maharaja has a mild bitterness but in a perfect way. I put lemon in my pint of beer and it seemed to be the perfect addition. Although made with an absurd amount of hops and described as tangy and pungent I think the intense flavor of the mass amounts of malty barley actually relaxes on the tongue, making this show stopper an extremely drinkable IPA.

Beer name history: Maharaja is derived from the Sanskrit words ‘Mahat’ meaning “great” and ‘Rajan’ meaning “king”. The beer is described as being regal just as it’s namesake suggests. All I can attest to is after a 10 oz. glass of Maharaja and an added lemon I was feeling like a queen.

Brewery History: Open since 1993, they claim to defy styles and categories of popular beers in search of like-minded palates, if you will, to express their true selves. Well I think my tastes buds can keep up and I happily place this beer and brewery on my list of life long beer adventures to come. 🙂

Drink merrily and enjoy! I know I will. 🙂

Cassandra

 

Kedegree My way!

Ingredients:

Rice (white or brown) 1 c                      Boiled eggs 4 (peeled and roughly chopped)        Paprika 2 tbsp

Lemon 1                                                        Red onion 1 (diced)                                                         Salt + Pepper (to taste)

Fish cutlets  5                                             Garlic cloves 4 (diced)

Broccoli 1 c (chopped)                           Curry powder 3 tbsp

Asparagus 1/2 c (chopped)                  Celery seed 3 tbsp

Rice:

Bring your h20 to a boil and cook your rice according to the packaging instructions, adding in a few slices of lemon and a 2 or 3 tbsp of curry powder. This might sound odd but I can assure you adding lemon and curry only makes things in life better. 🙂 After it has cooked, set aside and keep warm.

Veggies:

In a saute pan heat some olive oil and throw in your freshly washed and chopped asparagus and broccoli. ( I added a tbsp of butter because it makes everything tastes better ) Add salt and pepper to taste  and cover and let cook for 10-15 minutes, occasionally stirring. You want the asparagus and broccoli to become fairly soft.

Add your onions and garlic and let cook for 5 more minutes

Set aside and keep your veggies warm

Fish:

Rinse  and dry your fish. Sprinkle it with salt and pepper to taste and celery seed (I also sprinkled it with a bit of paprika) then heat a saute pan with a little olive oil. Cook on medium heat 4 or 5 mins on both sides or until flaky and fully cooked through.

Mix your rice and veggies by folding them into each other in a large casserole dish to serve it in, it will make it look very pretty and home-style. Flake in your fish and chopped boiled eggs and voila! Your done. Add some parsley or chives or whatever fresh herb you might have on hand that you like a lot.

This dish is super filling, healthy and is perfect for a fun group brunch in your own home. Get out that cork screw and open up some wine or pass around a few cold beers. Now it’s perfect. I hope you enjoyed this recipe because it truly is fantastic.

 

I would love to hear about your version or food that is just too fantastic not to share.

 

Cassandra

Side note: Swai fish

In case you were wondering what type of fish swai is, It’s native to South-east Asia, Vietnam, Thailand, Laos and Cambodia. It’s very similar to Catfish and belongs to the Pengasius family, has a sweet mild flavor and takes very well to sauces, frying, broiling and coating with bread crumbs.  A 3.5-ounce serving of plain fish contains around 90 calories, 4 grams of fat (1.5 saturated), 45 grams of cholesterol and 50 milligrams of sodium. Not bad. And it’s super affordable in comparison to similar types of fish. So try it!

2 thoughts on “June’s Beer of the Month-Maharaja!!!!!

  1. You’re too beer smart for my liking and I’m not sure my ego can handle following your blog anymore! 😀

    That all said, any chance this could be paired with something that doesn’t contain seafood ? I have this whole “if it comes from the sea, it’s not for me” policy.

    Like

    • hahahaha I try. Ummm most definitely. I had with this dish however I also had a huge 60 oz growler of it, so as you can imagine I wound up pairing it with several different items… For example I have a really yummy meatball recipe.. to make a summer like meatball sandwich to mix up that whole, “we only eat ribs and burgers in the summer” thing.. heheh I shall find it and edit the article with another non seafood option.
      🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

